The call for nominations for the OWSD Awards – Elsevier Foundation for young scientists in the developing world is now open, an initiative that rewards the scientific and professional achievements of women in developing countries. The reception of applications for the 2020 awards will be open until August 29, 2019 and young scientists who have made significant contributions in the fields of Engineering and Technology may apply. The evidence of innovation will be considered favorably.


Candidates must be scientists who have received a PhD degree in the last 10 years. Eligible disciplines for the 2020 awards include:

  • Civil Engineering
  • Electrical engineering, electronic engineering
  • Telecommunications, computer engineering, software engineering
  • Computer or computer science
  • Mechanical Engineering
  • Chemical engineering
  • Materials engineering
  • Medical engineering
  • Environmental engineering
  • Environmental biotechnology
  • Industrial biotechnology
  • Nanotechnology

In addition, candidates must have lived and worked in one of the following lagging countries in science and technology for at least 5 of the last 15 years:

Africa: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo, Ivory Coast, Democratic Republic of Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Niger, Rwanda, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Arab Region: Djibouti, Palestine (West Bank and Gaza Strip), Sudan, Syrian Arab Republic, Yemen.

Asia and the Pacific: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Cambodia, Kiribati, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Mongolia, Myanmar, Nepal, Solomon Islands, Sri Lanka, Tajikistan, Timor-Leste Democratic Republic, Tuvalu, Vanuatu.

Latin America and the Caribbean: Bolivia, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Paraguay.

Please note that, at the time of submitting your application, the applicant must not have an active scholarship from the World Academy of Sciences (TWAS) or have applied for a program of that institution during the same year . Only one application can be made per year in all TWAS and OWSD programs. Thus, applicants for the OWSD-Elsevier Foundation Award will not be eligible for TWAS “Visiting Professor” programs during the year they apply for the award. The only exception is for the director of an institution that has invited an external academic to share her experience in the framework of the TWAS “Visiting Professor” programs (only this director could apply to another program) .

  • USD 5,000 prize
  • Trip with all expenses paid to attend the annual meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Sciences (AAAS) that will take place from February 13 to 16, 2020 in Seattle (2020 Award) and from 11 to February 14, 2021 in Phoenix (2021 Award).

A total of 5 awards distributed as follows will be awarded: one prize for each of the four regions of the developing world, plus an additional prize for an outstanding candidate from any of these regions.

More information on the official site Here

Comparte esta información

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

five × one =