The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) awards each year the UNESCO Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize to an individual, organization or institution that stands out for defending and/or promoting press freedom worldwide.

About the Award

Created in 1997, the award was created in honor of Guillermo Cano Icaza, a renowned Colombian journalist and founder of the newspaper El Espectador. Cano was assassinated on December 17, 1986 for his constant denunciations of the drug mafias and their impact on Colombian society. The case of Guillermo Cano is an example of the price to be paid for free expression and the unpunished crimes against journalists around the world.

What is the award process like?
  • The UNESCO Guillermo Cano World Press Freedom Prize consists of US$25,000.
  • The winner is chosen by an independent jury of 12 professionals.
  • Nominations can be submitted by non-governmental organizations – regional or international NGOs working for press freedom, as well as UNESCO member countries.

For more information visit the official site Here

Comparte esta información

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

12 − 11 =